****************************
**************************************
****************************


On Apr. 12, 2002 at 3:58 p.m., I wanted to sing:

Jewel: Standing still

Cutting through the darkest night are my two headlights
Try to keep it clear, but I'm losing it here
To the twilight
There's a dead end to my left
There's a burning bush to my right
You aren't in sight
You aren't in sight

Do you want me
Like I want you

Or am I standing still
Beneath a darkened sky
Or am I standing still
With the scenery flying by
Or am I standing still
Out of the corner of my eye
Was that you passing me by

Mothers on the stoop
Boys in souped-up coupes
On this hot summer night
Between fight and flight
Is the blind man's sight
And a choice that's right
I roll the window down
Feel like I'm gonna drown
in this strange town
I feel broken down
I feel broken down

Do you need me
Like I need you

Or am I standing still
Beneath a darkened sky
Or am I standing still
With the scenery flying by
Or am I standing still
Out of the corner of my eye
Was that you passing me by

Sweet sorrow - He said call tomorrow
Sweet sorrow - He said call tomorrow

Do you love me
like I love you

Or am I standing still
Beneath a darkened sky
Or am I standing still
With the scenery flying by
Or am I standing still
Out of the corner of my eye
Was that you passing me by?
Are you passing me by?
Passing me by...

Do you want me
like I want you?

Passing me by

Do you need me
Like I need you too
Do you want me
like I want you
or are you passing me by?
or am I standing still?



I have more of a reason to post this than permanently engraving it into John's head. *grins*

It asks a pretty good question: are these feelings mutual, or am I getting nowhere?

I've looked at that question in my relationships. Sometimes, I have indeed been going nowhere...

Anyway, I think that's the last of the songs I'm gonna post for now, those are the ones that have the most immediate relevance, and my computer needs to be rebooted. And I haven't written in poorpoetry yet!


****************************
**************************************
****************************


On Apr. 12, 2002 at 3:43 p.m., I wanted to sing:

Nine Inch Nails: Happiness in slavery

slave screams
he thinks he knows what he wants
slave screams
thinks he has something to say
slave screams
he hears but doesn't want to listen
slave screams
he's being beat into submission

don't open your eyes
you won't like what you see
the devils of truth
steal the souls of the free
don't open your eyes
take it from me
i have found
you can find
happiness in slavery
happiness in slavery

slave screams
he spends his life learning conformity
slave screams
he claims he has his own identity
slave screams
he's going to cause the system to fall
slave screams
but he's glad to be chained to that wall

don't open your eyes
you won't like what you see
the blind have been blessed with security
don't open your eyes
take it from me
i have found
you can find
happiness in slavery
happiness in slavery
happiness in slavery
happiness in slavery
happiness...

i don't know what i am
i don't know where i've been
human junk just words and so much skin
stick my hands thru the cage of this endless routine
just some flesh caught in this big broken machine



I actually don't have a specific reason for posting this one.

I could go on about the "identity" bit, that in D/s a slave does most certainly have an identity, that sort of thing. (I've learned a little.) Or about the closing of eyes, because we don't see what we don't want to sometimes...

*shrugs*


****************************
**************************************
****************************


On Apr. 12, 2002 at 3:34 p.m., I wanted to sing:

Vanessa Carlton: A thousand miles

Making my way downtown
Walking fast
Faces passed
And I'm home bound

Staring blankly ahead
Just making my way
Making my way
Through the crowd

And I need you
And I miss you
And now I wonder....

If I could fall
Into the sky
Do you think time
Would pass me by
'Cause you know I'd walk
A thousand miles
If I could
Just see you
Tonight

It's always times like these
When I think of you
And I wonder
If you ever
Think of me

'Cause everything's so wrong
And I don't belong
Living in your
Precious memories

'Cause I need you
And I miss you
And now I wonder....

If I could fall
Into the sky
Do you think time
Would pass me by
'Cause you know I'd walk
A thousand miles
If I could
Just see you
Tonight

And I, I
Don't want to let you know
I, I
Drown in your memory
I, I
Don't want to let this go
I, I
Don't....

Making my way downtown
Walking fast
Faces passed
And I'm home bound

Staring blankly ahead
Just making my way
Making my way
Through the crowd

And I still need you
And I still miss you
And now I wonder....

If I could fall
Into the sky
Do you think time
Would pass us by
'Cause you know I'd walk
A thousand miles
If I could
Just see you...

If I could fall
Into the sky
Do you think time
Would pass me by
'Cause you know I'd walk
A thousand miles
If I could
Just see you
If I could
Just hold you
Tonight



Vanessa Carlton doesn't have much of anything terribly original in terms of voice or music. This is the second song of hers I've posted this week, though. Granted, a week ago, I'd never heard of her. I found her online first, and then heard her on the radio like Tuesday morning. But anyway, some of the piano is cute, and some of the lyrics.. (:


****************************
**************************************
****************************


On Apr. 12, 2002 at 3:23 p.m., I wanted to sing:

Foo Fighters: Walking after you

Tonight I'm tangled in my
Blanket of clouds
Dreaming aloud
Things just won't do without you
Matter of fact
I'm on your back
I'm on your back
I'm on your back

If you walk out on me
I'm walking after you

If you'd accept surrender
I'll give up some more
Weren't you adored?
I cannot be without you
Matter of fact
I'm on your back
I'm on your back
I'm on your back

If you walk out on me
I'm walking after you

Another heart cracked in two
I'm on your back



Just not letting anyone go...


****************************
**************************************
****************************


On Apr. 12, 2002 at 3:11 p.m., I wanted to sing:

Caroline's Spine: Nothing to prove

I should be able to get over yourself
nothing given means nothing can get kicked around
I fear you and I occasionally think too
your insecurity makes living life tough on me, but
I don't know if you feel this way all the time
hear me, I don't think you're right
and no...you got nothing to prove

And I ponder why you're always trying to take what's mine
hear me, I won't fight you
no...you got nothing to prove

I'm always able to get over myself
I still remember how you helped me figure it out
but I fear you and I occasionally think too
your insecurity pollutes your path to purity, but

I don't know if you feel this way all the time
hear me, I don't think it's right
no...you got nothing to prove

and I ponder why you're always trying to take what's mine
hear me, I won't fight you
no, it's not my way

I guess now you know why I never call...

We should be able to get over ourselves
time in small quantity, I think, would work very well

I don't know why you feel this way all the time
hear me, I don't think you're right
no...you got nothing to prove

and I ponder why you're always trying to take what's mine
hear me, I won't fight you
no, it's not my way...

I guess now you know why I never call...




I hear this one as kindof a conversation between Jeff and Stephan, with me in there too a bit.

It's kinda funny, too, 'cuz I'd tried to post this one yesterday but it wouldn't let me, and I was struggling to remember it, and then it came next on my mp3s, out of all 1289 that I have queued right now.


****************************
**************************************
****************************


On Apr. 12, 2002 at 3:08 p.m., I wanted to sing:

Fuel: Bad day

Had a bad day again
She said I would not understand
She left a note and said "I'm sorry, I had a bad day again.
Spilled her coffee, broke her shoelace.
Smeared the lipstick on her face.
Slammed the door and said "I'm sorry, I had a bad day again."

And she swears there's nothing wrong
I hear her playing that same old song
She puts me up and puts me on

And had a bad day again
She said I would not understand
She left a note it said, "I'm sorry, I had a bad day again."



Again, this doesn't entirely apply... though yesterday was a bad day for several people... this song implies more decay than there is (:


****************************
**************************************
****************************


On Apr. 12, 2002 at 3:02 p.m., I wanted to sing:

Madonna: You must love me (from Evita)

Where do we go from here?
This isn't where we intended to be
We had it all, you believed in me
I believed in you

Certainties disappear
What do we do for our dream to survive?
How do we keep all our passions alive,
As we used to do?

Deep in my heart I'm concealing
Things that I'm longing to say
Scared to confess what I'm feeling
Frightened you'll slip away

You must love me
You must love me

Why are you at my side?
How can I be any use to you now?
Give me a chance and I'll let you see how
Nothing has changed

Deep in my heart I'm concealing
Things that I'm longing to say
Scared to confess what I'm feeling
Frightened you'll slip away

You must love me
You must love me


Okay, here comes some rapid-fire music, many songs to be posted at once. Some are songs I'd wanted to post yesterday but couldn't 'cuz it was down, and some only slightly apply....

I'm not nearly as desperate as this song. But some of it's still appropriate. I have no doubt that I am loved. (:

backward :: forward

Nickel Creek: When You Come Back Down

Semisonic: Chemistry

Joe Nichols: Tequila makes her clothes fall off

Five For Fighting: 100 Years

Savage Garden: Crash and Burn

past :: present :: profile :: notes :: diaryland