****************************
**************************************
****************************


On Apr. 08, 2002 at 10:39 p.m., I wanted to sing:

Joydrop: Beautiful like me

If I was beautiful like you
Oh the things I would do
Those not so blessed would be crying out murder
And I'd just laugh
And get away with it too
Like you do

If I was beautiful like you
I would never be at fault
I'd walk in the rain between the rain drops
bringing traffic to a halt

But that would never be
That would never, never be
'Cause I'm not beautiful like you
I'm beautiful like me
Beautiful like me

If I was beautiful like you
I'd be quick to assume
they'd do anything to please me
why not, I see their reaction
when you walk into the room

But that would never be
That would never, never be
'Cause I'm not beautiful like you
I'm beautiful like me
Beautiful like me
Beautiful
beautiful like me
like me

If I was beautiful like you
I'd have so many friends
all fighting for my time to be next in line
so if I hurt one,
I wouldn't have to make amends

That will never be
That will never, never be
'Cause I'm not beautiful like you
I'm not beautiful like you
I'm not beautiful like you
I'm beautiful like me



This one's a classic. And today I do feel pretty good about myself.


****************************
**************************************
****************************


On Apr. 08, 2002 at 5:45 p.m., I wanted to sing:

All-4-One: Breathless

oooh, tonight i wanna turn the lights down low
turn the slow jams on the radio
i wanna feel your body next to mine
so let's slow down and baby take you time
'cause when i look into your eyes
always makes my nature rise-oh baby
wanna get you in the mood
'cause tonight we're gonna groove-oh baby
makin' love untill we're breathless

come over here i wanna make you hot
kiss you up and down until you say stop
touch all the little places that you like
girl you know i wanna take you higher

i wanna fill you up
till you say you've had enough- oh baby
i wanna hear you moan
call my name out all night long-oh baby
makin' love until we're breathless
makin' love until we're breathless

you know there's not a sound around
so come on we can break it down
baby don't say stop
girl you know we're hot
lady won't you leave me breathless

tonight we're just gonna kick it and just flow
break it down and let our passion go
tonight i wanna make sweet love to you
girl that's all i wanna do
makin' love until we're breathless
makin' love until we're breathless

i know there's not a soul around
so come on can we break it down
baby don't say stop
girl you know we're hot
baby won't you leave me breathless

tonight we're gonna kick it and just stroll
break it down and let our passion show
tonight i wanna make sweet love to you
girl that's all i wanna do
makin' love until we're breathless
makin' love until we're breathless



This song definitely loses something without the music. The lyrics just sound either seriously cheesy or maybe a little scary. *shrugs* I still like the song.


****************************
**************************************
****************************


On Apr. 06, 2002 at 1:17 p.m., I wanted to sing:

Sense Field: Save Yourself

turn out the light
just say goodnight, to yourself
may I remind you
when you find you, you're all alone is
when you've got to be strong
cause that's when they call you, in the night
he's got your picture in his mind
he's got your number on a paper at his disposal anytime

is it really true
could you save yourself for someone who,
loves you for you
so many times we just give it away,
to someone who
someone who you
met in bar
the back of a car
and for a moment you felt important but not in your heart
my self esteem, it's been low,
go ahead and count it's been lower than low
i know the feeling of it stealing life out from under me
i want to learn, how you save yourself for someone who,
loves you for you
so many times we just give it away to someone who,
couldn't even remember your name
could you save yourself for someone who,
loves you for you, loves me for me
give it away to someone who someone who will cherish your name

cause I want to learn, can you save yourself for
someone who will love you for you so many times we
just give it away, someone who, couldn't even remember your name
you save yourself for someone who, loves you for you, loves me for me
give it away to someone who, someone who will
cherish your name
cherish your name



I heard this song yesterday on the radio for the first time. It really, really made me think of my sister.

I don't expect everyone to wait as long as I did -- Oliver and I waited over two years before we had sex. We were even living together for a year of that. Since then, I've obviously not waited nearly as long, or for nearly the emotional connection, but I don't agree with Julie's completely casual attitude, and I worry that she's going to get herself in big trouble...

But it's her life.


****************************
**************************************
****************************


On Apr. 06, 2002 at 12:20 p.m., I wanted to sing:

Vanessa Carlton: Ordinary Day

Just a day,
Just an ordinary day.
Just tryin to get by.
Just a boy,
Just an ordinary boy.
But he was looking towards the sky.
And as he asked if i would come along
I started to realize-
That everyday you find
Just what he's looking for,
Like a shooting star he shines.

He said take my hand,
Live while you can
Don't you see your dreams are right in the palm of your hand

And as he spoke, he spoke ordinary words
Although they did not feel
For I felt what I had not felt before
You'd swear those words could heal.
And I as looked up into those eyes
His vision borrows mine.
And to know he's no stranger,
For I feel I've held him for all of time.

And he said take my hand,
Live while you can
And if we walk now we will divide and conquer this land.
Don't you see your dreams are right in the palm of your hand
Right in the palm of your hand

Please come with me,
See what I see.
Touch the stars for time will not flee.
Time will not flee.
Can you be

Just a dream, just an ordinary dream.
As I wake in bed
And the boy, that boy, that ordinary boy.
Or was it all in my head?
Did he asked if I would come along
It all seemed so real.
But as i looked to the door,
I saw that boy standing there with a deal.
And he said he my take my hand,
Live while you can,
Don't you see your dreams are right in the palm of your hand
Right in the palm of your hand
Right in the palm of your hand

Just a day, just an ordinary day
Just tryin to get by.

Just a boy,
Just an ordinary boy.
But he was looking to the sky.



It's funny how one day a girl can't find *any* of the lyrics she wants, and another she finds some she wasn't even looking for.

Not that I think he's really ordinary. But his eyes, and the healing words....

*smiles*


****************************
**************************************
****************************


On Apr. 03, 2002 at 9:06 p.m., I wanted to sing:

Marcy Playground: Sex and Candy

Hangin' round downtown by myself
And I had so much time
To sit and think about myself
And then there she was
Like double cherry pie
Yeah there she was
Like disco superfly

I smell sex and candy here
Who's that lounging in my chair
Who's that casting devious stares
In my direction
Mama this surely is a dream

Hangin' round downtown by myself
And I had too much caffeine
And I was thinkin' 'bout myself
And then there she was
In platform double suede
Yeah there she was
Like disco lemonade

I smell sex and candy here
Who's that lounging in my chair
Who's that casting devious stares
In my direction
Mama this surely is a dream
Mama this surely is a dream
Yeah mama this must be my dream



Actually I don't smell sex. I smell Rainshower from Glade, which made me think of John 'cuz I let him buy it, and helped me pick it out because my sense of smell was very weak that night. And of course, thinking about *John* makes me think about, uh, chocolate Easter candy! Yeah, that's it! (Yes, yes, yes, "dirty girl", I know!)

*grins*

backward :: forward

Nickel Creek: When You Come Back Down

Semisonic: Chemistry

Joe Nichols: Tequila makes her clothes fall off

Five For Fighting: 100 Years

Savage Garden: Crash and Burn

past :: present :: profile :: notes :: diaryland