****************************
**************************************
****************************


On Feb. 25, 2002 at 4:19 p.m., I wanted to sing:

Paula Cole: Ordinary.. just the feeling

Paula Cole: Ordinary

I nearly died I suicided softly
I saw her shadow through the cafe window
I watched you lean across the table
I watched you whisper in her ear

And she is your holy Mary
And I am so ordinary
And you can use me if you want to
I know you need me just like an old soft shoe

She looks like me but a bit prettier
She's a skater and a ballet dancer
I saw her on your motorcycle
In the seat I thought was meant for me

And she is your holy Mary
And I am so ordinary
And you can use me if you want to
I know you need me just like an old soft shoe

And when your mother came to Boston you disappeared
And then I saw you three together
I guess she makes the best impression
With her charming femininity...

And she is your holy Mary
And I am so ordinary
And you can use me if you want to
I know you need me just like an old soft shoe

Oh but I am the one you will call when alone
And I am the one who will give when she's gone
And so I give
So I give

I tell myself that love is truly giving
Somehow I justify this
Hoping you will understand me
Hoping you will love me back

And she is your holy Mary
And I am so ordinary
And she is your Queen Cleopatra
And I'm just your morning after
And she is your Star Spangled Banner
And I am just Frere Jaque
And you can lose me if you want to

And I am so ordinary

***************

I'm not quite in this situation right now. I still don't think I'm all that special, though. I'm only me. And I know the way this song feels, it speaks to me.


****************************
**************************************
****************************


On 2002-02-25 at 3:40 p.m., I wanted to sing:

Linkin Park: In the end. For Stephan.

Linkin Park: "In the end"

it starts with
one thing, i don't know why
it doesn't even mather how hard you try
keep that in mind
i designed this rhyme
to explain due time
all i know
time is a valuable thing
watch it fly by as the pendulum swings
watch it count down 'till the end of the day
clock ticks life away
it's so unreal
you didn't look out below,
watch the time go right out the window
tryn' to hold on
didn't even know, i wasted it all
just to watch you go
i kept everything inside
and even though i tried
it all fell apart
what it's meant to be
will, eventually be,
a memory of a time,
when i tried so hard and got so far
but in the end, it doesn't even matter...
i had to fall, to lose it all...
but in the end, it doesn't even matter...

one thing, i don't know why
it doesn't even mather how hard you try
keep that in mind
i designed this rhyme
to remind myself
how i tried so hard...
dispite the way you were mocking me
acting like i was part of your property
remembering all the times you fought with me
i'm surprised it got so far
things aren't the way they were before
you wouldn't even recognize me anymore
not that you knew me back then
but it all comes back to me
in the end...
you kept everything inside
and even though i tried it all fell apart
what it meant to be, will
eventually, be a memory of a time
when i tried so hard,
and got so far,
but in the end, it doesn't even matter
i had to fall, to loose it all
but in the end, it doesn't even matter
i've put my trust in you
pushed as far, as i can go
for all this
there's only one thing you should know

**************

Could there BE a better Stephan song?

backward :: forward

Nickel Creek: When You Come Back Down

Semisonic: Chemistry

Joe Nichols: Tequila makes her clothes fall off

Five For Fighting: 100 Years

Savage Garden: Crash and Burn

past :: present :: profile :: notes :: diaryland